Skip to main content

Delta Nu chapter gives out $10,000 in scholarships

The Delta Nu Alpha Volunteer Chapter 135 recently showed their support to the transportation and logistics industry by presenting $10,000 in scholarships to five college logistics majors.

To honor a longtime Nashville transportation icon, the group founded The Les Overton Scholarship more than 15 years ago with one winner. It has increased to four recipients:

• Joseph Matjasich, $1,250.00, Western Illinois University

• Thomas Levis, $1,250.00, Western Illinios University

• Cameron Casey, $2,500, Wayne University

• Heather Sandefur, $2,500, UT Chattanooga

Due to a variety of successful projects and events, DNA Chapter 135 raised additional funds to honor Wayne Cordell, who died in late 2013. Cordell was passionate about the education and was a long supporter of Delta Nu Alpha Chapter 135.

The first-time winner of the $2,500 Wayne Cordell Scholarship is Spencer Dyer, a UT logistics major, from Hendersonville. Dyer graduated from Merrol Hyde Magnet school in 2010

Delta Nu Scholarships, DNA Chapter 135, The Les Overton Scholarship